If you had $10,000 to spend on essential items for a start up project...

dearlybeloved

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
What are some of the important things you would need?

I have $10,000 to start my own business and want to make sure I'm investing in the right things. I gravitate towards landscape and portraits so I need to figure out how to spend the money responsibly and on things I will Need. I'm just starting out so an $1600 Nikon 85mm 1.4 is out of my budget. I already own a Nikon D800e, Nikon sb700, a quality tripod a few budget lenses and will be receiving a Nikon 16-35mm f/4, a Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8, Nikon 70-200 f/2.8 and a Nikon 85mm f1.4 shortly.

So other than the camera and those lenses, what are some things I should look into? trigger, studio lights (portable lights?), filters, other lenses, etc.

Also, if you have any advice or non equipment related things I should understand then I'd be happy to hear them.

Thanks

Not trying to be a smartass but do you have the knowledge and abilities to compete in that market? Landscapes are not something I see a huge market for and, while I admittedly don't know much about Auburn, the portrait market around here is absolutely bloated with people who have no clue what they are doing.

If your answer to that is "No" then perhaps spending a bit of it on education to improve that knowledge would help.

Studio stobes, light stands, light modifiers, backdrops, (do you already have a laptop?) website, local advertising, (do you already have studio space?) If not, then at least 6 months rent, or preferably one year's rent set aside.

Not trying to be a smartass but do you have the knowledge and abilities to compete in that market? Landscapes are not something I see a huge market for and, while I admittedly don't know much about Auburn, the portrait market around here is absolutely bloated with people who have no clue what they are doing.