I'm new to it all

Discussion in 'Photography Beginners' Forum' started by cherylann19, Oct 19, 2006.

1. cherylann19

cherylann19 TPF Noob!

In the last year I have become fasinated with photography but don't know where to start. Right now I have started in my home with nothing but a black sheet snapping pictures of my kids. I really have no idea what I am doing and I think I take good pics but I just don't know where to start, what I need to learn first, second or third...you know what I mean. Any input would be good.

2. What kind of camera are you working with right now?

3. cherylann19

cherylann19 TPF Noob!

A Panasonic DMC-FZ7

4. Innocence

Innocence TPF Noob!

hello.

I did a quick search on your camera and it seems you have very high zoom power!

You could try to start taking more control of your camera, and your photography by having a try in manual mode, where you can set your own shutter and aperature speeds (among other things).

there is something called depth of field which I always find fun to play with! Do you ever notice in some [portrait] shots, the background appears blurry? haha I think you can try that! reduce your fstop down to minimum (2.8 - 3.3 on your camera is the range for the minimum - depending on your focal length (zoom)).

And then zoom in !! hopefully have a tripod so that it wont shake! Then take a shot! hehe hopefully the background will be blurry. this phenomena got me really really into photography because it's so beautiful - and shows you that you can do "different" things or create different effects even with a point and shoot!

5. Torus34

Torus34 No longer a newbie, moving up!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit