I'm struggling to decide on a camera, sensor size, mirrorless or SLR...Think you can help? ;)

TimmyD11

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I'm struggling to decide on a camera, sensor size, mirrorless or SLR...Think you can help? ;)

I was a serious amateur photographer in the eighties and nineties and then I moved away from it as I took on other interests and priorities.

I've always appreciated a good photograph though.

I'd like to get pretty serious with it again.

I am passionate about the great outdoors, wilderness, nature, mountain scenery and wildlife.

Providing I can find one other person to do it with I love hiking, backpacking, canoe camping and pretty much anything in wilderness and mountains.

And this is what I love to photograph.

I also might want to dabble in astrophotography at some point. I think this would be very compatible with wilderness camping.

But I don't get to do these things nearly as often as I like, and for the most part any camera I got would probably be sitting on a shelf somewhere until I was able to go on one of these trips.

I am concerned with not "getting enough camera" and perhaps "buying too much camera" or more camera than I need...for my skill level...and how often it gets used.

So I want to strike that balance.

As mentioned in previous threads I have 3 Canon EF lenses from back in the nineties which will probably work, but even though these were good back in the day (but not the great "L" lenses) I understand lens technology has come a long way and I could get much better lenses for reasonable money now?