Images darker than expected

Quilted

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hi folks, I'm new to the forum and with about 6 months self taught experience.
-----
I'm not sure if it's something I'm doing good wrong or if I have a faulty lens, so I need some advice.

I can take photos in my living room with a Nikkor 35mm f1.8, and a Sigma 18-250mm f4.5-6.3 easily with an ISO of under 1000.

However when I try my brand spanking new Tamron f017 90mm macro lens, I have to crank the ISO to 6400+ or dump the shutter speed to 1sec+ to get an image with about the same light. Assuming all my gear is ok,the only thing I can think of is that I'm using an FX lens on a DX camera, but I'm under the impression that that will only crop the image to decrease the field of view.

The body I'm using is a second hand Nikon D7000 with about 30k actuations.

I can post sample images when I get home tonight if need be.

FX lenses on a DX body would not change the exposure.

The first thing that comes to mind is the diaphragm is stuck or misadjusted. Does it look darker through the viewfinder?

On a Nikon mount lens, there is a tab inside the lens mount that interfaces with the camera to open and close the diaphragm, (looking at the back of the lens, it is about 3:00 with the lens upright) try CAREFULLY moving that towards the top of the lens, and see if the aperture opens and closes.

Or, try taking a picture in aperture priority wide open, half way (f8 or f11), and stopped all the way down. If the stopped down one looks properly exposed, with the others progressively darker, it may be a stuck diaphragm.

You might also try it on another body if you know someone who has one, or see if your local camera store can help you.

I agree with Peter; a diaphragm issue seems the most likely cause. Follow his recommendations and if that doesn't resolve it, post one picture of each, along with full FX data for forensic analysis.