inexpensive lighting - strobes

ryan7783

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Can anyone recommend some decent, yet, inexpensive strobes? I've checked ebay but I never know if any of those are decent enough to work with. I'm new to lighting equipment so any help would be greatly appreciated. I'm not looking to spend a crazy amount of money but I would like something half way decent. Please help

Take a look at the Patterson Interfit line. They have quite a few "kits" that are real nice for starters. I use the Patterson Interfit 300 kit and I love it. They have several different power options and kit options as well. Both B&H and Adorama have them.

You could even consider getting a couple cheap strobes like the SB-200 and using them as optical slaves sitting on some cheap $20 tripods. That's a really a great bang for the buck.

I know I am a dork but I got some shop lights from Sears and put a sheet 6 inches in front of them. Makes a great light. I spent $40 on the 2 lights.

Watch out for those halogen shop lights, the might burn something that is 6" in front of them...and I wouldn't want to be a model who has to sit in front of them for any length of time.

Can anyone recommend some decent, yet, inexpensive strobes? I've checked ebay but I never know if any of those are decent enough to work with. I'm new to lighting equipment so any help would be greatly appreciated. I'm not looking to spend a crazy amount of money but I would like something half way decent. Please help

What's a strobe, what's a crazy amount of money, and what are you wanting to use them for?

2 200w/s monolight kit which is almost a rebranded Elinchrom D200, iirc. $319: http://www.calumetphoto.com/item/CF0502K1/

Or you can get some used Vivitar 283's for about $35 a piece on ebay and have some that's more portable.

maybe i'm confused - i'm looking for a constant source of light to use as a main source and a secondary source.

I appreciate the help thus far