Infrared, Digital

Ariadne

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hi,

I've been shooting digital infrared for about 2 years. I'm currently using a Nikon E4500 with a #87 filter.

I'm about to try my hand at film infrared with a vintage Leica.

I just found this forum last night and was so excited, I stayed up till the wee hours and read almost every post.

Also, I'm about to experiment for the first time with Polaroid image transfer. So I'm doubly happy to have found this forum.

Here's a recent IR shot:

ISO 100, f2.6, 1/100 sec

884007000680.jpg

Click here for a larger version:

http://images3.fotopic.net/?iid=yfjlkv&outx=600&noresize=1&nostamp=1

I've seen some impressive IR effects done digitally, no doubt, but they always pale in comparison to IR film. Konica IR film has a tight structured grain; my personal fave is Kodak HIE developed in TMax. I love the grain and the halo effects and all the other fabulous things real IR will give you. Go for it! :)

Hi Terri. I'm thinking maybe you misunderstood me? I'm not doing digital IR "effects," i.e., using digital software or actions that simulate IR effects. I agree they are quite unacceptable.

I don't know whether you were able to link to my photo or not. I'm still working out how to link it directly, but not having any luck.

What I'm doing digitally is not "digital effects." I'm using a camera with a dense (#87) infrared filter over the sensor. The infrared blocker has been removed from the sensor and replaced with the IR filter. In digital, your sensor is your film. So what I'm shooting are "real" IR photos digitally.

But, I agree that IR film appears to have a certain richness, texture, body to it that I don't see in digital IR. That's why I want to have a go at it. I've enjoyed reading your threads and seeing your work. I'll certainly have a few questions for you once I get started.