intimate photoshoot

bc3544

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I am a beginner with a basic Canon 8 mp camera. I'm wanting to take some nood and partially clothed shots of my wife. She is kinda shy but let me take a few in a hotel room already.

What do I need to know to get the best poses, angles, crops, etc?

Also, what is a good free program to crop and process the pics I already have. All I have on my home computer is Microsoft Paint.

What kind of nudes do you have in mind? A lot depends on that. You should now what kind of mood you want to capture - erotic, romantic, gentle, hard, honest, abstract, glamorous, dynamic, tranquil, snapshots, fine art etc.

What are your lightning options? If you're not doing outdoor nudes, some form of artificial lightning would be highly advisable.

As for editing software, many use Adobe Lightroom 2.0, Aperture and others. There are however one or two free editors which seem to be quite good, but I can't remember their names... Maybe someone else will.

EDIT: I think Gimp was one of them, but I'm not sure. Also, didn't you receive some kind of editing software with your camera?

I know many on here will disagree with me as it is a photo forum, but I work in law enforcement and I have seen nothing but bad come from people taking nudes of each other. I am sure a lot of people do it and have no problems but when things go bad it gets really bad. The good side is that the pics are going to be of your wife and not you.

my vote :thumbdown:

If she is shy maybe she would like to do more lingerie type shots or implied nudity (she is nude but nothing is shown in the photo due to posing positions). I think these are sexier anyway than full nudity.

Tasteful. Nothing hard, but semi erotic yes. Romantic, yes. Tranquil, sometimes. So far most have been in briefs and topless and maybe one without the bottoms from behind.