Is this a good idea...

ucddyan

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.freewebs.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello everyone. First off I've been looking at this message board for a little over 6 months and love the information i've gathered and I've finally signed up to ask my question. Hi.

Most of my questions have been answered several hundered times on these forums already so I won't bore you with those... My real question is a feasability one.

The business plan is as such: Two of my friends and I would like to start a photography business where we sell our pictures to companies and individuals for home/office decoration, we include framing and putting the pictures up, in home/office consultation, etc. We are also willing to travel, and to and take the exact picture our client is looking for if they're interested in that (for a price of course). I'm a horrible photographer, but my friends are amazing and I'm sure I could handle the business side of things.

I'm just wondering if this idea is a feasable one or if you think we would go down in flames. The problem we obviously have is that there are tons of stock photography type companies out there that offer the same thing, but we would be willing to go above and beyond for the client and offer a more personal experience. As with anything it's a risk, but one of us has already lost $20,000 on a buisness venture and learned from it and we all plan on taking business and marketing courses before we get started and we're saving up now so we don't have to deal with too big of a loan when/if the time comes. We've got our heads in the game but we're just not sure if this venture is one we should take.

Thanks for any and all advice!