jpeg to raw

Discussion in 'Photography Beginners' Forum' started by vade, Feb 21, 2007.

  1. vade
    Offline

    vade New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2007
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    My Photos Are OK to Edit
    hi i have gotten a 400d recently i was wondering if any one else has 1 that can tell me how to shoot in raw cause i cant find the option to switch it in my camera. i read the manual but i didnt see where it says how to do it
  2. harkain
    Offline

    harkain New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2007
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    My Photos Are NOT OK to Edit
    Page 60 of the manual downloaded from the Canon website says the following:
    On the menu, select the first tab with the "1" and the little camera icon. Select "Quality" and there is a little table with about eight options. The bottom right choice says RAW.
  3. EOS_JD
    Offline

    EOS_JD New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,698
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    My Photos Are OK to Edit
    Might be worth shooting RAW + jpg. You'll then get 2 images. One with the RAW data and one a normal jpg and you can compare the look of each. RAW needs to be processed by you on the PC before it can be printed or edited further.
  4. Big Mike
    Offline

    Big Mike I am Big, I am Mike Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2003
    Messages:
    33,540
    Likes Received:
    1,733
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Edmonton
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +1,743 / 0
    My Photos Are NOT OK to Edit
    With that camera, you can't select RAW if you are in one of the 'picture' modes. You must be in one of the 'creative' modes...P, M, Av or Tv. This is mentioned in the manual but not very well...many people ask this question.

    This would be a good idea to compare the two different formats and the work involved...but other than that...it's just a waste of memory space, IMO.
  5. EOS_JD
    Offline

    EOS_JD New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,698
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    My Photos Are OK to Edit
    Another reason for me to shoot a jpg is that I use an Epson P-2000 and therefore use the jpg to view and zoom my image to check what it's like although I don't do this too much these days. I usually just download and keep shooting.

    Also if on-location, I can print jpgs straight off the camera using my portable CP-330 printer. Great for weddings and the like.
  6. Groupcaptainbonzo
    Offline

    Groupcaptainbonzo New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Messages:
    463
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Turners Hill, West Sussex, UK.
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    RAW + Hi Qual JPEG will eat memory cards like you will not believe.. Get a BIG one (Memory card that is) if you intend to do this...
  7. EOS_JD
    Offline

    EOS_JD New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,698
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    My Photos Are OK to Edit
    I use a mix of 1Gb and 2Gb cards. i get about 80 images per 1gb card (from the 20D 8Mp images).

Share This Page