ucddyan

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.freewebs.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello There,

I'm new to photography and have posted a couple of times, but nothing quite so artsy... but then again a lava lamp isn't exactly the most exciting subject. Any thoughts on these photos? Do you find them interesting? (yes, they've been post-processed)

#1 Nikon D200, 18-200mm dx/vr @200mm, f/13, 1/4s, ISO 720
Abstract%20Lava%20Lamp%20Art%20resized.jpg

#2 Nikon D200, 18-200 DX/VR @ 200mm, f/13, 0.80s, ISO 250
Abstract%20Lava%20Lamp%20Art%202%20resized.jpg

Thanks guys!

I would freakin' love the first one if it had some sharpness at the top of the "bubble".
Keep trying. These are too soft to my eye.
Do more!

I was trying to reduce some noise from the photo, here's another version where I didn't add the blurring effect. I wish I could figure out how to smooth the image without losing clarity but I'm not that great with CS3... I also don't have noise ninja... (this was produced by cropping the image, selecting the right side then copying and flipping it horizontally to produce the symmetry - in the previous photo I also adjusted brightness/contrast and added gaussian blur)

Abstract%20Lava%20Lamp%20Art%203%20resized.jpg

Unfortunately you have to start with a sharper image.

Alas, THAT I do not have... Here's another attempt, I give up now, it was fun to play with for a while though! Thanks!!!

Abstract%20Lava%20Lamp%20Art%204.jpg

The title of your thread was not very exciting (roll my eyes here) but I'm glad I opened it anyway.

Love those. Personally I like the softness. I think it actually helps the abstractness. I could see one of those as an album cover for Tangerine Dream if you know who they are.

I love the softness in the second. Definitely helps with the abstractness; nice smooth, continuous tones, which are just fun to enjoy sometimes.