Lens Choices

Terrellk

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Well, i'm new to thephotoforum.com but yeah i've been coming here at least 3-4 times a week for the last year. Usually I just view the galleries heh. I have a Canon Digital Rebel xti with a kit-lens. I'm doing a wedding gig for a friend of mine and I know I need a different lense.

I'm very interested in doing some macro photography, and i'd like a little bit more zoom. I was thinking about getting these two lenses.

Macro Lense
Telephoto Lense

I don't need anything really freaking huge for a telephoto lens. 135mm will probably be fine for me.

Also was wondering if that Macro lens would be good for my friend's wedding? I know macro lenses are for close up and everything but is a Macro lens only for that or does it just offer that capability?

Any insight is appreciated. Thanks!

Macro lenses, when not taking pictures of stuff close up takes takes a soft focuses, almost blurry image. You definately want the 50-150mm lens. It will have all the length you need. This lens will be perfect for your friends wedding.

Of the two, the telephoto will be of more use in a wedding I think. Generally, you would see a good prime lens, a fast wide to moderate zoom like a 24-70, a fast 70-200mm telephoto, and maybe also a superwide 10-20mm at a wedding. Actually, you would see 2 of each of these, one for each of the bodies that you would be carrying along with 2 flashes.

I doubt you will be doing much macro photography at a wedding, but the 60mm would be usable for some of the candids.

A 'macro' lens can certainly be used as a regular lens. The 100mm Macro has been known to be a very sharp portrait lens as well.

For wedding photography, you will want something fast (large max aperture). The 50mm F1.8 is cheap, which makes it a popular choice.

The 28-135 IS, lens might be a good choice for you...but it's a bit slow for wedding photography.