Lens Flare Help...Help me achieve this look...

Discussion in 'Photography Beginners' Forum' started by eric-holmes, Sep 1, 2010.

  1. eric-holmes

    eric-holmes No longer a newbie, moving up!

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,858
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    Arkansas
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    You can see in the picture what kind of look I am going for, but I need help achieving it. I know I could have done it with the real lights but that wasn't an option.

    The problems I am having:
    -When I go to Filters>Render>Lens Flare, the dialog box is so small I can't precisely place my flare.
    -There are several lights and I cannot place a flare on every light. I need some idea on how to make the whole of the lights look bright without having too big of a flare. To increase the flare size means increasing the brightness and that kind of screws with the whole picture.

    Suggestions?

    [​IMG]
     
  2. Negative ISO

    Negative ISO TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Alaska
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    Can you create new transparent layers and put the flares on different layers so you can move them around later?
     
  3. eric-holmes

    eric-holmes No longer a newbie, moving up!

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,858
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    Arkansas
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    I don't think it is possible to select and move or free transform a flare. If it is I don't know how to do it.

    Edit: if the flare is on a separate transparent layer, maybe you can free transform the whole layer, thus affecting it's size and shape.
     
  4. Negative ISO

    Negative ISO TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Alaska
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    I most familiar with GIMP, and since I know it can be done there I have to believe it can be done in PS as well. ;)
     
  5. Robin Usagani

    Robin Usagani Been spending a lot of time on here!

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    10,348
    Likes Received:
    2,174
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    Eric, everytime you put the flare, then you press undo, it will remember the last location. Thats what I do, I just click undo and adjust the location. As far as putting light source at each ligh bulb I suggest just using clone tool after you put 1 flare.
     
  6. kalni

    kalni TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2010
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    The lens flare in PS is very primitive IMHO,

    Well as far as positioning the flare is concerned, you can specify the exact
    co-ordinates where you want to center the flare at by Alt+Click on the
    preview image. So all you need to do is note down the coordinates where you
    want to place it beforehand by using the info palette.

    P.S - In Gimp you can zoom in on the preview itself to position it graphically.
     
  7. kalni

    kalni TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2010
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    There is another trick for repositioning a len flare but it doesn't always give
    the results you expect. I don't remember it exactly but it involves creating a
    new layer in hard light blend mode with 50% gray and putting a lens flare in it, then moving around the layer to reposition.
     
  8. eric-holmes

    eric-holmes No longer a newbie, moving up!

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,858
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    Arkansas
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    Bingo!

    Here are the results for those who helped me out. Thanks to all. I'm sure with more practice this would be better.

    [​IMG]
     
  9. LCARSx32

    LCARSx32 TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    641
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Cedar Hill, Missouri, USA
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    Is this like what you were envisioning?

    [​IMG]

    You can move the flares my making a new layer, filling it with black, making a flare on that layer, then setting the layer's blending mode to "screen". Then you can just move the layer around. For the picture above, I made a new image that was twice as wide and twice as tall as the image and made the flares on there, then copied them to the original picture. That way, when I moved the flares, they didn't get cut off.
     
  10. LCARSx32

    LCARSx32 TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    641
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Cedar Hill, Missouri, USA
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    Oops! Missed your reply. Your's turned out even better. Good job! :thumbup::thumbup:
     
  11. eric-holmes

    eric-holmes No longer a newbie, moving up!

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,858
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    Arkansas
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    Thanks man, I just made a new layer of 50% grey then blended using hard light. I used one larger flare and cloned in the "bokeh lights"
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
achieving lens flare
,
achieving sun flare
,
flare
,
how get lens flare box larger in photoshop
,

how to achieve lens flare

,

how to get lens flare

,

how to increase lens flare

,
how to make lens flare preview larger
,
how to make the preview in lens fare bigger
,

increase lens flare