Lens or Camera?

photo28

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Just getting an idea.

I have a Sony A200 with the kit lens.

I decided to print a few shots to see how they came to see if I could make a few bucks.

They weren't bad(plus I wasn't using photo paper, and not exactly the best photo printer, nothing wrong with it though)...

I printed a 8x11s (or around there), the images weren't very noisy, actually quite nice, I just saw that mistakes I made while shooting it stood out.

My question is:
What makes the biggest difference on printing (quality of the images)? Lens or camera body?
Remember, I have an A200 with the kit lens. Photos didn't come out bad, but still didn't cross the line of a shot I'd buy. Is it the lens that makes difference in the (printed) image quality, or the camera body (more so)?

I'll take recommendations, but I'm not a professional (at least yet), so I'm not going to be spending thousands. Just something where I can make a few extra bucks - for fun.

Not printing on paper designed and optimized for printing images is a serious mistake--that alone is more important than the camera or the lens. How the images are prepared in post processing is important, but if you print on non-photo paper, your images will always look sub-par,no matter how great your lens or camera.

Here is an article that goes through some important factors in printing images

How Big Can I Print by Thom Hogan

Thanks.
Sorry if I was misunderstood - I don't have plans to print on Non printing paper, I just had no photo paper left.

I have an HP Photosmart C1380 - I right clicked the photos and saw the DPI - 96 DPI Horizontal, 96 DPI - vertical. How is this? (10mp sensor)
Can I get it higher?

96 DPI is loooow for an image that's going to be viewed relatively close. Something like 250 would offer more resolution.