Lens purposes (not a "what's best" thread)

Fally

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hi all, and there's a reason this is being posted in the "Beginner's Place" lol.

I said this isn't a what's best thread in the title, but I guess it's more of a "what's best situationally" thread dealing with different types of lenses.

I'm just getting into photography, have a Nikon D80 with 18-200 f3.5-5. VR lens and SB800 lens. But I'm confounded by all the different types of lenses, and sure I could do a tonne of research through google, and who knows what kind of actual truth might be behind some of the pages I find, so I decided to post my questions on here. I want to have a better understanding of what I'm going to be looking for when I do go to buy my next lens, and the purpose for the purchase.

I do not have a specific type of photography that I will be doing, however sports and cityscapes interest me greatly, portraiture would be dealt with on vacations, etc but no "glamour shots" :)

What are the general use of primes (say 50mm or 85mm), what sort of photography makes them shine as a choice of lens?

What is a macro/micro lens and what is their best situation?

Thank you for any response, sorry if the question seems dim-witted to many of you :)

Fally
aka Scott

Hey there, and welcome to the forum.

The lens that you are starting of with is pretty cool, in that you have such a wide range focal range to work with. So what I would do is shoot heaps with it and after you have taken a few thousand pics you will know 2 things.

What focal length you shoot most at, and what you like and don't like about the 18-200mm VR. These two things will help you greatly in deciding what other lens' to invest in.