Lens suggestion?

hawks24

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello everyone,

Looking for advice/suggestions for a different lens for my D5100. I am a novice when it comes to photography but reading/shooting a lot trying to improve.

What I'm looking for is a lens that would work for taking action shots of the dogs playing both inside and outside. Also, taking family photos of kids/grand kids both inside and out. Currently get motion blur when taking shots of the dogs outside and have trouble getting enough light when inside. Even though this is for my own enjoyment I would like to be able to take some higher quality shots.

Is there any lens that I should consider that would fit both my areas of interest? Or am I just limited by my ability or lack thereof? Thanks for any suggestions and have a great 4th!

Current camera/lens
D5100
Tamron 70-300 F/4-5.6
18-55 nikon kit len

Currently get motion blur when taking shots of the dogs outside and have trouble getting enough light when inside. Is there any lens that I should consider that would fit both my areas of interest?
You don't need a lens as much as you need a flash.

If you are happy with a close fixed lens, the 35mm f1.8 should allow faster shutter speeds at lower iso. However for moving subjects you'll still be at at least f2.8/3.2 as depth of field is narrow.

Set your 18-55 at 35 and see would this focal length suit your needs

35mm on your D5100 is about the same as your eyes. And would be what is considered a normal lens at 52mm effective on your 1.5x crop body. The 35mm f/1.8 lenses are inexpensive and good performance as well. Or something like your 18-55 kit lens but faster aperture. And that deppends on your budget. The fixed lenses 35mm, 24mm etc will get you the most change over your current lenses. Over 3 stops if you get a f/1.8 prime lens compared your kit lens that f/5.6 at 55mm.

35mm f/1.8 DX lens is under $200. And is a good performer for the price.