Light boxes

Tara

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hey there!

I'm planning to put on an exhibition which contains transparencies printed up big (on back-lit film) and presented on lightboxes. Does anyone know the best and cheapest way to build these as buying them is REALLY expensive. They need to be a decent quality as they are for my final assessment for my degree. They'll need to be on for the best part of 14 days too. Has anyone made them before? I'm thinking boxes of about A2 size.

don't know anything about this, but love the concept. if you find some info on this elsewhere, could you come back and give a link let us know what you came up with? thanks! :)

I have no idea, unfortunately. I'm guessing that the cost of color-correct bulbs alone will add up. I can't find any info on-line on how to make them, only places that sell them.

I'm an idiot about some tech details--how big is an A2? Roughly how big do the boxes need to be? Wall hanging or floor standing? Presenting the photos upright or flat?

Do you have access to a decent workshop with some powertools? And how handy are you? ;) :D

Shark. how big is an A2? Roughly how big do the boxes need to be? Wall hanging or floor standing? Presenting the photos upright or flat?

A2 is twice the size of A3 and therefore 4 times the size of A4
It's 42 x 59.4 cms. I'll need the boxes roughly this size and I'm planning to have them wall-mounted. I'm renting a gallery space for two weeks,so they dont have to be portable.

Do you have access to a decent workshop with some powertools? And how handy are you?

One of my best friends is a design and technology teacher so he has access to a workshop..and he's very handy :D He is considering making them for me...what a star!