Lighting challenge...getting married in front of a window

deb

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Ok, here goes. I recently took pictures at a wedding which was held in an old CCC built restaurant at a state park. The interior of the building had dark wood floors, dark wood walls, dark wood vaulted ceilings and regular incandescent lighting. Needless to say, the available light was absorbed into the surroundings.

The wedding was at 5:00 pm, and the bride decided that the ceremony should be held in front of a west window............can we say major backlighting in a dark room?

I had some warning and I finally convinced them to put some covering over the window, but the backlighting was still a major challenge.

Here is some of what I was able to leave the wedding with. I'm really not happy with them, but they are what I got. I can do some adjustments with levels in photoshop (which I'm still learning, so it really behooves me to get it right in the camera), but I don't think they are salvagable.

Let me know what you think. (Assuming this link works.)

http://atlantic.photoisland.com/photosharing/albumindex.html?&oldpict=25725556&newpict=25725556

That worked :)

I think you did an outstanding job considering the circumstances you had to work with. That is about as tough a lighting situation as I can come up with and the photos turned out very good...I'm surprised that I didn't find the window more distracting.

Pretty good. Back lighting is a tough one for sure.