Lighting Questions...

CW Jones

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.flickr.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Ok after watching a pretty good video about lighting I am trying to figure out a good beginners set up. I would like to go with flashes/strobes vs. continuous lighting. As a primary flash I am thinking 430EX II and something like a cheaper like this Amazon.com: Adorama Auto Bounce Flash: Camera & Photo

My question(s)... How would I get them to fire off camera? I have a 30D, I would probably keep one on the camera, or possible both off camera. I figured the cheaper flash would be fine either shooting into a softbox, or an umbrella (if one is better than the other?)

I just am not sure what a good beginner set up would be really... I would like to be able to give a budget, but I am honestly not sure... $500 is too much haha $300 is probably pushing it as well. I am NOT a professional, I just would like to get a good feel for some portraiture of friends and classmates.

Hope someone can help me out! :thumbup:

-Collin

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
CW,
On ebay, you can purchase set of radio w/ 3 receivers for hotshoe flashes for about $50

Aw cool, thanks! your probably going to shoot me, but what would
i specifically be searching for? lol

The 430EX is a great flash, especially if you are using it on-camera because it's fully compatible & dedicated with your camera. For simple off-camera use though, it's overkill.

Strobist Starving Student SC1 Lighting Kit is a one light kit that will give you everything you need to get started.

ok so maybe I don't need the 430EX? maybe I should just start with this kit then? the flash in the kit, could be used on top of the camera as well tho correct?