Lightroom folder organization question

Discussion in 'Graphics Programs and Photo Gallery' started by Jon_Are, Sep 5, 2009.

  1. Jon_Are

    Jon_Are TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    May 12, 2007
    Messages:
    644
    Likes Received:
    3
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    Working with Lightroom 2 here...

    The left panel, where it lists Navigator, Catalog, Folders & Collections...

    Under the Folders tab, I have listed my external drive in which I keep all my photos (Drive F). Underneath the Drive F label, I have lists of various folders on that drive with titles I've given them.

    My question: I expected this list, on the left panel of LR, to automatically populate itself so that the folder titles/hierarchy would mirror what is shown in Drive F if I looked at the drive within 'computer' in Vista.

    Well, it doesn't. Fair enough. So then, when I right-click on a folder and select 'sync', I expected the listing to then mirror the folder arrangement within 'computer' in Vista.

    It still doesn't do that. I have sub-folders that are simply not showing up within the LR panel unless I manually create the folders and 'move' my images to them (still within LR).

    Bottom line: It seems I have to update this Folder panel manually. And its structure seems to be straight-up alphabetical, with no indication of folders/sub-folders.

    I'm sure the problem lies within me and not the software. I'd appreciate a little guidance as to how I can make the Folders panel automatically stay current.

    I hope this makes sense; if not, please ask some specific questions.

    Thanks,

    Jon
     
  2. Josh66

    Josh66 Been spending a lot of time on here!

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Messages:
    14,604
    Likes Received:
    1,236
    Location:
    Cedar Hill, Texas
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    How are you importing? Are you doing something other than pushing the "import" button?

    The structure should match the structure on your hard drive. When you import stuff, then move it - it tends to not know where it is anymore. Put your file where it will stay before you import.

    There is no way to make it automatically stay current, but it will always be current as long as you don't move stuff around after you import.
     
  3. dl4449

    dl4449 TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2008
    Messages:
    263
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    San Jose,Ca
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    If I understand correctly you are creating folders outside of lightroom.
    If so Lightroom will not recognize anything that is not imported by Lightroom. You need to specify how Lightroom will handle files as they are imported.
    If I misunderstood you pleas disregard all of this .
    Troy
     
  4. Jon_Are

    Jon_Are TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    May 12, 2007
    Messages:
    644
    Likes Received:
    3
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    Well, this is where it gets a little iffy.

    Some of these folders are from, I'm thinking, before I knew to do everything from within LR. (They must be, right?)

    Anyway, syncing should make things right, shouldn't it?

    When I sync a folder, it does not show subfolders in the panel (subfolders I know are there).

    I guess I have to mess around with this some more.

    Jon
     
  5. Josh66

    Josh66 Been spending a lot of time on here!

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Messages:
    14,604
    Likes Received:
    1,236
    Location:
    Cedar Hill, Texas
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    I never do it that way, so I just tried it to check.

    When I sync, it updates everything in the folder, including sub-folders.


    Synchronizing should make everything current.
     
  6. Jon_Are

    Jon_Are TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    May 12, 2007
    Messages:
    644
    Likes Received:
    3
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    Yep, it should, Josh. But it doesn't for me.

    I just created various test sub-folders (from within Vista's 'Computer'), then tried syncing the appropriate parent folders.

    Not once did it recognize one of my test folders.

    There must be some setting somewhere that's off.
     
  7. Josh66

    Josh66 Been spending a lot of time on here!

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Messages:
    14,604
    Likes Received:
    1,236
    Location:
    Cedar Hill, Texas
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    Did they have anything in them, or were they just empty folders?
     
  8. Jon_Are

    Jon_Are TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    May 12, 2007
    Messages:
    644
    Likes Received:
    3
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    Mostly empty folders, though I think I put a photo in one of them and it didn't work.

    I'll try again and check back in.

    Edit: Now that I think about it, the one I added a photo to, I did so outside of LR; not sure if that makes a difference.

    Jon
     
  9. Jon_Are

    Jon_Are TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    May 12, 2007
    Messages:
    644
    Likes Received:
    3
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    So here's my latest test...

    Within LR, I created a subfolder within an existing folder. So far, so good.

    I went into Vista Computer (outside of LR) and moved a file into my new test folder.

    Now, back into LR. The test folder shows zero images. I right-click the test folder, then click on synchronize.

    The pop-up window shows there is one image to import. I click OK. Another window opens, telling me that the image already exists within the catalog, and so it will not import it into my Test folder.

    I close this window. My test folder still shows zero images, even though the folder contains the file I previously moved.

    Is LR supposed to behave in this way?

    Thanks,

    Jon
     
    Last edited: Sep 6, 2009
  10. Jon_Are

    Jon_Are TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    May 12, 2007
    Messages:
    644
    Likes Received:
    3
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    I seem to have found the answer: There is a check box within the import dialog window that says "Don't re-import suspected duplicates".

    Mine was checked. I unchecked it. Happy days are here again.

    Thanks to all.

    Jon
     
  11. dl4449

    dl4449 TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2008
    Messages:
    263
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    San Jose,Ca
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    If you moved it from a Lightroom to a lighroom folder with windows explorer I think LR will see it in the old LR folder and not import it. There is an option to move the photos in LR
    Duff
     
  12. Josh66

    Josh66 Been spending a lot of time on here!

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Messages:
    14,604
    Likes Received:
    1,236
    Location:
    Cedar Hill, Texas
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    It sounds like it's trying to prevent you from having the same file in multiple locations...
    (Which, while it might be helpful, still sounds weird.)

    I don't think empty folders will show up (but they might).


    What, exactly, are you trying to do? It sounds like the easiest thing might be to delete all of the folders in LR, and start over. Re-import everything.

    You're making new folders inside of LR, and outside of it. You shouldn't ever have to create a folder in LR. It gets created automatically when you import the pictures in it.
    Don't import anything until you have the file where you want it.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
adobe lightroom
,
lightroom 3 empty folders
,
lightroom 3 organization
,
lightroom doesn't show subfolders
,
lightroom empty folders
,

lightroom folder organization

,
lightroom show empty folders
,
lightroom sort by windows folders
,
lightroom sub folder question
,
sorting folders in lightroom