Looking for advice on next lens

Ryan18

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello all. First a bit about me. I am just getting more into photography now. I am learning a bit more about using setting other than auto and trying to take as many pictures as I can good or bad to get a feel for the camera. The camera is a D3200. It came with 2 kit lenses. I have since picked up a 40mm nikkor micro f/2.8 and a 35mm nikkor f/1.8.

I am looking to add a few more to my bag and right now I am looking at a tokina 100mm f/2.8 and or an nikkor 85mm f/1.8.

I am into landscape, nature, some portrait and eventually sports ( when child is older). Does anybody have any other recommendations or preference between this 2?

Thanks

As a nature photographer, I will say this: one quickly gets frustrated with how little reach one has with those focal lengths. If you are looking for sports down the line, have a longer focal length for that too would be good. But, perhaps that's with one of the kit lenses you got.

Maybe idk much but unless you have some need to be mildly farther away from your subject I dont know what you would do with either of those lenses except take pictures of stuff at medium range. I've only played with something over 200mm once and was less than enthused about its clarity at any significant range. Not like those nat geo video camera lenses that shoot like a mile or something.

One of kit lenses I have is 55-200. I would in the future like to get something in the 300mm range. But for now with winter coming I was looking for more of a closer in lens. Something for portraits of my son and dogs as well as some outdoors stuff.

The Nikon 85mm 1.8G will be the better portraiture lens. The Tokina 100mm f2.8 is good for portraiture and doubles as a macro lens. I own the Nikon 85mm 1.8G, but the Tokina 100mm f2.8 looks amazing. The Tokina appears to be a hair sharper than the Nikon, but both are so close that's a wash.