Looking for feedback

Justin.Qamera

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi everyone, my name is Justin I just wanted to ask a question about a service I’ve been developing for photographers and videographers. Keep in mind that this is brand-new and I’m still working out exactly how to implement it, so your feedback would be greatly appreciated (hence the post).

Anyways, its called Qamera, and I already have a website running at www.Qamera.co. It aims to lower the costs of buying or renting cameras and camera accessories, and it essentially acts as a club for camera gear. You would pay a small monthly subscription fee, and in return get access to a huge virtual catalog of camera equipment, which you can check out and get shipped to you for free, keep as long as you want, and then send back and swap out for a different set of gear. If you think this is a cool idea (or if you don’t) please reply and give me your feedback. As a videographer myself, I know how expensive it is to buy or rent gear, and I think this service could help change that for our community. All replies are welcome I'm just looking for pointers.

You are going to have to buy a large amount of kit upfront which is going to cost you 100,000s before there is any point in anyone paying to use your service. Not saying it's not a good idea just a very expensive one.

Example: I join along with Fred, Jack, Peter and Alan. We each pay our first month's subscription fee and each decide to start our individual projects. We each want a Red camera and associated paraphernalia so, in your first week, you need to supply five Red cameras etc. Two weeks later we each finish that project and start on our next - you now need to supply five Canon EOS 5 MK III cameras and five L series lenses.

Gets very expensive very quickly!