Looking for new lens

fausto66

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
i was wondering if you all had any opinions of the aigma 17-70 2.8 lens im a novice family sports pohotgrpaher for the family nothing serious was looking for input on it

I assume you're talking about the Sigma AF 17-70mm f/2.8-4.5?

I've heard that it's a decent lens...not terrible and not great. It's a nice range on a camera with an APS-C sized sensor but the variable max aperture isn't ideal.

If you want something similar, but at a higher quality, I'd suggest looking at the Sigma 18-50mm F2.8.

What kind of sports are you planning on shooting? Indoors or out? Like Mike said, the variable aperture isn't ideal, and f/4.5 isn't going to be great (without cranking ISO) if you're shooting indoors. For sports, in general, I would think you might need a little more reach than 70mm. Obviously, that depends on what kind of sports.

I have the Sigma 18-50 f/2.8 and can second that recommendation.

well i have a 70-200 f 2.8 nikon for sports ....and my other len s are a 50 mm 1.8 nikon and the sigma 18-250 3.5-6.3 thats lens seems a bit redundant and i have a friend who wants to buy it...so hence ny situation was thinking of the sigma 1 mostly for walk around and vacation stuff ....the tamron looks nice....but dunno really if ill miss the gap of 20 mm in between the 50 to 70 range

I don't think that it's important to 'fill the gaps' (so to speak) in your focal lengths.
The difference between 50mm and 70mm (in terms of coverage) is one or two steps forward or back.

well the tamron looks real nice and constant 2.8 any 1 have any opinions on that lens