Looking to buy camera for disney trip - need help

Cyay918

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hello everyone. Im looking for suggestions on a camera for our family disney trip. Finding a camera that does well in the sunlight is pretty easy. However I also need one that will handle low light so I can take pictures of things like fireworks, decor inside of dim buildings, shows on a stage, even a few food shots if I felt like it =).

Another plus would be the ability to take fast action shots such as a roller coaster going by or actors on a stage performance.

I am NOT a professional. This camera will only be used for special occasions, vacations, and holidays so dropping 3 grand on a camera that weighs 10 pounds and needs 5 lenses just for that pourpose is a bit extreme.

Looking for suggestions from the experts here. Thank you for your advice and recommendations. I plan to do much more research after I get pointed in the right direction.

Having been to Disney many times, I can tell you light "IS ALWAYS BETTER". I have an older model of this that I still use when I need something small and light.
Canon SX730 HS Review: Preview

Looking for suggestions from the experts here.
Hello and welcome!

I'm not a professional, and not an "expert", but I'm a guy on the internet with an opinion.

Seriously consider a small, lightweight "travel" camera. Get the best one you can afford, and accept that it simply won't do everything, but it will do family snapshots very well. Lugging around a large, heavy apparatus will not guarantee "terrific" photographs any more than simply seeing a shot and being in the right place at the right time to grab it.

I've posted links before, and you can search the threads with keywords such as "travel" to find plenty of reading material.

Some links:

The best travel compact cameras in 2017 | TechRadar

How to Choose the Best Travel Camera - Ordinary Traveler

https://gearpatrol.com/2017/05/10/7-best-compact-travel-cameras/