Looking to upgrade but clueless - need to get further in-field for sports shooting

cupcake1142

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I am an amateur photographer and I've only recently gotten into photography, mostly shooting soccer games. I've tried reading a bit about what the lens lengths mean and all that, but it's always explained in really confusing terms. The bottom line is that I have a Canon Rebel T3 and the lens I use for soccer games is the EFS 55-250mm IS II. It's been a great entry-level lens that has allowed me to get some nice shots, but it's a bit of work, I have to overshoot and requires a bit of luck sometimes. I am looking for a lens that will get me closer to the action further in-field so I don't have to only rely on shooting action happening near the out-of-bounds lines. It would be great if it would work in situations where objects are in motion and lighting isn't great.

What sort of lens should I upgrade to? When I browse the available lenses, I am not sure what I am supposed to be looking for, to be honest. I wouldn't want to spend $500 on a lens that is the same as the one I already have. It really needs reach a much further distance -- like 20 feet more at least, maybe? How much do I need to spend and are there any lenses anyone can recommend for under $1000, preferably closer to $500? (I also am assuming the camera body I have is fine and upgrading the lens will be the most cost-effective way of meeting my needs.)

I'd really appreciate any recommendations. I can upload some photos of mine if necessary but I figure my question is pretty self-explanatory! Thank you in advance!! :blushing: