macro filters....what happened :(

rdzmzda

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Ok anyways I got some macro filters and started toying around with them and for some reason its all blurred. I see it nice and sharp in the viewfinder but when I take the picture (on a tripod and with a remote) its blurred and out of focus. The setup im using is in this order 5d body, 50mm 1.8f canon lens, uv filter, +10, +4, lens hood. I have never used these macro filters before and so im all confused is the order wrong is it supposed to +4 then +10 or what? does it matter? Does anyone know a good article? Anyways here are three pictures I am attaching that I took.
3178401700_a6cdde5834.jpg

3177565725_5472945f6f.jpg

3177564389_c7acb21328.jpg

Can't help you to much not too sure about the filters but did you use auto or manual focus?

I used auto focus and like i said they looked good in the viewfinder

Hmm i'm not sure it could just be because of the filter and how the quality is. Have you tried manual focusing to see the results.

Looks like a really shallow depth of field. You'd want to increase the f-stop (aperture) to get more depth.

Agreed - macro work is often done with very small apertures (like f13 - remember smaller aperture bigger f number) due to the very small depths of field at macro sizes.
After that handholding macro shots are nearly always done with flash support - the small apertures used mean that without flash you need a slow shutter speed so that you get enough light into the camera to make an exposure. If your handholding then you have to use flash to artificially boost the light and thus allow you to use a faster aperture.
If your tripod shooting then you can expose for longer, but you have to make sure that camera and subjct remain perfectly still - tiny movements can cause softness and blur in macro work.

What they said... Aperture should your first adjustment.