Macro lens help please =)

jubbin2001

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I have been stooling over several different macro lenses for my Nikon D80.

1. Nikon 60mm
2. Sigma 70mm
3. Tamron 90mm
4. Tokina 100mm
5. Sigma 105mm

Now since I am new to photography and all that I am having some issues understanding and finding out how close to my subject I need to be to acheive a 1:1. On the Tamron for example, it says it has a min focus of 11.3in. Now am I mistaken in thinking that is at infinity and you have to get closer to get a 1:1?

I have an old AF Vivitar 100mm that I am toying with, but to get even a 1:2 I have to be really close to the subject, and with the 1:1 adapter on, almost right on top of it.

I am wondering if this holds true with the other newer lenses as well (just without an adapter). I really don't feel like getting bit or stung very often :lol:.

I tried hitting the manufacturer sites, but I didn't get very far. I thought I would come here and see what information I could find, and maybe get some input from people who are actually using these lenses and see what they think.

I just don't have the money to waste on a lens thinking I am getting what I want, only to find it's like what I already have.

Thanks all!!! :hail:

I like the longer Macro lenses better myself. They allow you the benefits of being a little farther back to get your 1:1. Also, by having their 1:1 farther back you can add a bellows, extension tubes, etc... To get even higher ratios. With a lens that focuses very close to get 1:1, you may loose that ability. Also if you are trying to get something that is alive. It may be a little skittish and trying to move in real close you may loose the shot. And a third benifit of being a little farther back allows easier use of flashes or reflectors.