Manual exposure control with iPhone?

Majeed Badizadegan

TPF Supporters
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I'm new to iPhone. I have had no success finding an app that gives you full control over the exposure parameters.

There are lots of apps out there that false advertise, or mislead you to believe that you will have control over exposure. Most of them show the exposure parameters in live view, but you don't have actual control.

I'm trying to get decent pictures of my 18 month old running around. I'd much rather choose a faster shutter speed and live with the high iso. Problem is, I find the camera to be hovering at 1/15-1/20 sec indoors all the time. Usually shutter speed won't increase until its below iso 400. I mean, 1/15 sec is a pretty slow shutter speed. It's just simply not fast enough.

Anyone else noticed this with their iphone? I'd love Manual control. I have camera+ and its nice but doesn't give the added control. I see "slow shutter cam" has good reviews at $.99, really long shutter speeds not really what I'm looking for though. Anyone have any ideas or know of any apps?

I have yet to find a legitimate one. Most of them are fraudulent. Adjustable camera shutter takes a full 1/15 second image but allows you to "freeze" the frame some.

Last edited:
I dont think that SDK that apple has released does not let you control the ISO. This means that app developers cannot make exactly what you are looking for.

I believe all that apple let's you manually control is the focus point and the exposure point.

Because you want to take photos of a little kid running around I would look into one of the many bust or continuos photo apps then you can just choose the photo that is most in focus and looks the best.

I am working with some friends to program one, but it has a long way to go.

Hmm, pretty disappointing.

You'd think there would be an "app for that". Apparently not.