Megapixel Quantity versus Sensor Quality

devermb

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I am a photographer who's ready to take the leap into choosing a high megapixel camera, the Sony AR 7 II 42 megapixel, or a 24 MP camera with a very high quality sensor. I want to be able to crop and edit photos that will still be detailed as I can do with the Sony 42 MP that I've already tried out, but I am intrigued by the possibility of getting a Leica M that has a high quality sensor but only 24 MP. Will I be able get the same detailed photos from a Leica with 24 MP if I crop?

For the most part, megapixels are just hype, and the number is largely irrelevant for most photographers in most situations. The time that this is not the case is if you intend to crop heavily (more than half the photo) and make large prints. If you want to crop heavily and only publish online, you're fine with 24 pixels. Same if you don't plan to print larger than 8x10. But if you want to crop more than half the picture and print it at something like 16x24 on a regular basis, then it's important to look at the cameras with more megapixels.

Honestly, though, those two cameras are so different that megapixels should be the least of your concerns. I had a family member make a 16x24 canvas print of a picture I took for them, and the picture had been moderately cropped from a 16mp camera. The canvas looked perfect (though, to be fair, canvas is a fairly forgiving medium for that kind of thing.) The point is, unless you regularly plan to make 100% crops, don't worry about megapixels.

Many thanks for this very useful answer. I like your lucidity. I'd like to ask you some more questions:

Using film cameras, is there ever a problem with fuzziness, vagueness, etc., in a picture when it is enlarged?

I like to look at my pictures on a large computer screen: would I run into a problem looking at a photo taken with a 24MP camera?

Is there some quality in a Leica camera (e.g. sensor, lens etc.) that makes it special?