Millie - a saxy blast from the past.

Discussion in 'The Professional Gallery' started by tonymp, Mar 12, 2009.

1. tonymp

tonymp TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    Hi guys,
    last week a lovely model called Millie ( aged 31 ) popped over to help me with some new boudoir poses which I was working on - in return she wanted a couple of regular portraits of her and her sax so, a good deal on both sides.
    Now I first started out in photography with a Rollieflex 6 x 6 2.8f shooting promo shots for pro entertainers back in the mid-late 70's when I was a pro singer myself and, as it was a while since I did that sort of work, I thought I'd try my hand at it once more and relive my past LOL.

Rather than shoot static portrait style poses of Millie holding her sax, I wanted to give the shots the feeling of a live performance and emulate stage lighting with a three light setup with her moving around inside the lighting triangle actually playing her sax in the ever changing light. I shot 5 primers mainly just to see how the lighting worked. After we viewed them on screen, she was delighted with the results as they were, without any re-takes. That was it!!! Less than about 5 minutes work! It's got to be the easiest shoot I've done in months!

The boudoir test pose shots came out well too and she's coming back in just over a week to shoot again with me - now that's something to look forward to!
    Just to say, I couldn't decide whether or not to take out the hot spots on the shots - genuine stage lighting often produces these and it often gives authenticity to the shots - opinions welcomed!
    Regards...
    Tony

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

2. rufus5150

rufus5150 TPF Noob!

Photos NOT OK to edit
    I wonder if she realizes she's got the mouthpiece on upside down. Seriously, the reed goes on the bottom. And her right hand isn't on the correct keys.

Nice lighting though.

3. tonymp

tonymp TPF Noob!

Photos NOT OK to edit