more lens questions

neea

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hey everyone,

I'm making a list of goals and a list of what I need to achieve these goals.
This includes a new lens or two, and a Digital Rebel XTi.

So far I only have the lens that came with my Rebel 2000 (28-80mm).
I've used a friends 300mm lens quite often and always feel like I need more. For my current goals I think I would prefer around the 400mm.

I'm getting very confused and overwhelmed with all the info I've read today on different lenses.
From what I understand, if I did NOT get the kit lens for the XTi and used my current lens I would be without the wide angle (is that right?). This is completley ok with me because I've been doing landscapes for a few years and want to get closer. I lenses that will work with both cameras and fit my 58mm filters.

I'm also very confused with terminology.
Things like IS, USM.
And how does the size of lens affect aperature (I'm always hearing about this and have no idea what it all means)

I would also like to start doing maco. Is a lens necessary for this or are there any converters, filters, etc that would be cheaper (I dont want to do alot yet so just want something cheap until I decide if I like it).

I'm looking for the best line up of equipment and am really interested in things like converters for telephoto etc.
Any suggestions? Opinions? What works best for you?

If you need any more info on what exactly I plan to do just ask.

Thanx everyone.

EDIT: Lens hoods. what size etc. what would work best.

Wow!

Once again, let me make an appeal.

There are several TPF members who are super lens wonks. You know who you are. I don't intend to name names here.

Wouldn't it be nice if someone [or someones -- plural] took the time to write a few articles on lenses and had them published on TPF?

That way, newbees to the mysterious world of lenses would have some place to turn for all sorts of lens information.