"Must do better!"

PlasticSpanner

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.cheshirecatcarclub.info
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Honest critique please. I would like to get very pleasing and interesting shots of these RC Cars for my club website and promotion posters but I need more experience/guidence!

I would like to know
1/ If the photo arouses any interest in the subject.
2/ Does it look right? (i.e colours, position etc)
3/ what can I do next time to get a better shot?

Completely unedited image & I have little knowledge of composition (only had a "decent" camera for the last couple of months!)

volvos409dt.jpg

Mant thanks for your time.

p.s the image is on the site ATM with a couple of others but are quite small so they don't look too horrific! Just in case!.....

The whites are WAY blown out. That means you metered it to the pavement(or a very dark spot on your photo) and the whites then in turn went way too bright.
The composition is great, it would look a bit better if there was some room up on top instead of cutting off the antenna.

Also, there is camera shake... it's not as crisp as it could be.

Those are just some things to think about. :thumbup:

Yes it was metered on the tarmac before the car arrived! That would explain why the wheels look awfull! :thumbup: Next time I'll use the white kerb to get a light reading! Thanks!

I can't use a tripod as the cars move so quickly and change position every time! I know I'll have to practice & perfect steady tracking! :thumbup:

i wouldnt use the white curb either. that would probably underexpose it. might want to think about metering somewhere in between.

m

PlasticSpanner said:
I can't use a tripod as the cars move so quickly and change position every time! I know I'll have to practice & perfect steady tracking! :thumbup:

Can't you wait until they stop? :scratch: