My first attempt at slow shutter speeds

Discussion in 'Photography Beginners' Forum' started by tjones8611, Nov 7, 2009.

1. tjones8611

tjones8611 TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    Went out to some local waterfalls this afternoon to practice slow shutter and HDR. What are your thoughts, given this is my first attempt? I tried to go light on the HDR, Ive already learned from the forum to not make it cartoonish

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

2. joeywpc

joeywpc TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit
    not a bad first effort, I like what you've done with 2 & 3 using subtle HDR. Good job. It does look a tiny little bit cartoonish but that's what HDR does.

3. TJ K

TJ K No longer a newbie, moving up!

Photos NOT OK to edit
    HDR if done properly does not make it cartoonish it just allows for a perfect even exposure because the camera doesn't have the same dynamic range as your eyes. It's meant for harsh light situations.

4. pkirchner

pkirchner TPF Noob!

Photos NOT OK to edit
    good first attempt! you may want to warm it up a tad or desaturate the blue channel just a bit. :thumbup:

5. tjones8611

tjones8611 TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit
    That was my purpose for using HDR. The light was not constant along the river. The trees were making shaded areas and the ridge on the north side of the river kept some of the light out. The water was highly reflective, so I thought HDR would be good to balance at the exposure across the entire scene. The results wasnt what I was expecting, but it seemed to be better than just a single exposure.

6. RancerDS

RancerDS TPF Noob!

Photos NOT OK to edit
    Really liking the 2nd picture! It's almost like the surreal look to things during a solar eclipse. The range of colors is awesome.

7. Sn00bies

Sn00bies TPF Noob!

Photos NOT OK to edit