My first attempt at slow shutter speeds

tjones8611

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Went out to some local waterfalls this afternoon to practice slow shutter and HDR. What are your thoughts, given this is my first attempt? I tried to go light on the HDR, Ive already learned from the forum to not make it cartoonish

4083867477_08e2f4fbed_b.jpg

4084627270_05e6a53035_b.jpg

4083866993_0e1d04377b_b.jpg

not a bad first effort, I like what you've done with 2 & 3 using subtle HDR. Good job. It does look a tiny little bit cartoonish but that's what HDR does.

not a bad first effort, I like what you've done with 2 & 3 using subtle HDR. Good job. It does look a tiny little bit cartoonish but that's what HDR does.

HDR if done properly does not make it cartoonish it just allows for a perfect even exposure because the camera doesn't have the same dynamic range as your eyes. It's meant for harsh light situations.

good first attempt! you may want to warm it up a tad or desaturate the blue channel just a bit. :thumbup:

That was my purpose for using HDR. The light was not constant along the river. The trees were making shaded areas and the ridge on the north side of the river kept some of the light out. The water was highly reflective, so I thought HDR would be good to balance at the exposure across the entire scene. The results wasnt what I was expecting, but it seemed to be better than just a single exposure.

Really liking the 2nd picture! It's almost like the surreal look to things during a solar eclipse. The range of colors is awesome.