My Fuji Microfine developer turned yellow after roll of Rollei IR400, why?

Discussion in 'The Darkroom' started by AluminumStudios, Apr 10, 2008.

1. AluminumStudios

AluminumStudios TPF Noob!

Hello everyone,

After shooting digital for several years I became discontent and wanted to start playing with film.

I've been successfully developing my own Fuji Presto 400 using Fujifilm Microfine developer.

Today I tried developing my first roll of Rollei IR400 film. I read in a post on another site that you do NOT have to presoak the film to remove any anti-halation layer (something I have zero experience with.)

I decided to give it a try with what I had so I developed a roll with my Fuji Microfine developer. I did 9 minutes 30 second at 20 degrees (Celcius, I'm in Japan). When I poured the developer out to my surprise it was a clear, deep, yellow (sorry for the gross analogy, but it looked like urine.) It was pretty clear beforehand and had never changed when developing Preso B&W film.

My question is what caused this? Is there a layer that should have been washed away with a pre-soak? Is this some kind of indication that I exhausted the chemicals with this roll?

Any info. is much appreciated!

Also, I live in small-town Japan and getting any kind of variety of chemistry is a challenge, so I'm just sticking with the Fuji stuff I've been able to get for now.

BTW - the film is hanging and drying now and it looks like it developed decently.

Thanks!

2. Early

Early TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    Since no one has volunteered, I suppose I can give you my thoughts on the subject. It just won't be of any help.

I once developed Kodak movie stock film in C-41, but I don't remember if the developer turned yellow, and I had to remove the anti-halation backing manually.

3. AluminumStudios

Hmm, you're right. Your comment isn't of any help.

4. ann

ann No longer a newbie, moving up!

Photos NOT OK to edit