Need a wide-angle lens for my Nikon D80

Loxley

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hey guys,

I have a Nikon D80, and I'm studying photojournalism. I'd like a wide angle lens for my camera, something with a decently low F stop and something that can also be decent for macro photography as well. I'm looking for cheap, but I'll pay whatever is necessary for decent quality. Can anyone help me out please?

You'll not get macro from a wide angle to the best of my knowledge...... a telephoto, yes.

Define "I'm looking for cheap, but I'll pay whatever is necessary for decent quality." A dollar amount (or your currency) would be helpful.

You'll not get macro from a wide angle to the best of my knowledge...... a telephoto, yes.

Define "I'm looking for cheap, but I'll pay whatever is necessary for decent quality." A dollar amount (or your currency) would be helpful.

I'm not really sure how much I'm willing to spend.. I've never bought a lens separately before, so right now, I'm trying to get a general idea of what's out there. I'm a student, so all I can say is cheaper is better, but if it's going to be a crappy lens, then I'd stay away from it.

I did a little more research on macro, you're right about the lens, never mind about that. I still do need a wide angle lens.

Popular choices are the Sigma 10-20, Tokina 11-16, Nikon 12-24. All of these would be a good choice.

I just got my Tokina yesterday (canon) and have had a blast shooting it. I can't wait to get outdoors with it, so far I've been stuck doing interior shoots and a bunch of the cats, its cool being able to get a few inches away from a cat and still manage to get their whole body in the shot.

When I get around to putting some good picture time into it, taking worth while pictures rather then trying to freak out the cats, I can get a better review, The main reason I went with the Tokina over the Sigma was the 2.8F I plan on doing a lot of indoor interior shoots.

livingroom.jpg