Need help from computer wizards... Problem with keyboard...

Steph

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I am not very good with computers and I seem to have a problem with my laptop. Before going to a computer forum where they use a completely diffferent language I hardly understand, I decided to ask the question here first. Please answer with plain English and if possible a step by step procedure if you know how to solve the problem.

I have a problem with the keyboard (not all the time but it seems to happen more and more often): I need to press each key for 1-2 seconds before the letters appear on the screen (I am typing this from another computer:)). This is what I have done/checked so far:

-Checked that the key filters were disabled
-Tried to update keyboard driver
-Uninstalled then re-installed the keyboard
-Ran Norton Antivirus 2006 (up-to-date)
-The keyboard DOES work in the BIOS (I think that is what it's called)

All of that failed and I did not find any virus. Also, I noticed that the CPU runs between 95 and 100% all the time even when just running the Task Manager!! The two main processes that seems to use the CPU are called 'System' and 'System idle processes', which don't mean a lot to me. Any idea/suggestions?

BTW, I use Windows XP.

So this is the keyboard that is part of the laptop, not an external one right?

First of all, the "system idle process" is simply the amount of spare processing time that the CPU has. 95% is good. While you are looking at the system info, what are the relative memory utilisations? Sounds like you could have a memory gobbler process... this will slow everything down. Typical culprits are network processes that cannot finf what they are looking for... try turning off all wireless and wired network connections and see if that makes a difference - if not, let me know and we'll look deeper...