Need help with my Canon Flash

Br37t

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hello everyone this is my first post here. So I've been a photographer for almost 15 years and I've spent most that time as a landscape photographer. Well over the past couple years I've made the switch to portraits and now weddings. I use multiple off camera flashes and have really grown accustom to them. My setup right now is a
Canon 6D
ST-E3-Rt Trigger
2 600 Ex Rt flashes
Here is my question and it's really been bothering me because I can't seem to find any answer. Is there a way to sequence flashes meaning this.
I have flash A and Flash B they are off camera and being triggered by my Camera.

Is there a way to shoot a subject and when Flash A gets hot or over cycled flash b instantly takes over and starts firing. So if I'm shooting multiple shots a second I would have coverage?

Thanks a lot

Are you trying to do stroboscopic pictures? There are specific lights made for this.

If you need to keep using speedlights. You need to add more lights and lower the power of each unit lower. This would allow you to say get 7fps for a limited time. But your going to have each flash at 1/16 or down to 1/32 each or lower. But there is nothing that I know of that will swap flashes in mid use.

Other solution is to go with a monolight, again at lower power so it can have faster recycle times. The monolights would be better for longevity. And they will recycle faster than the speedlights will.

Are you trying to do stroboscopic pictures? There are specific lights made for this.

If you need to keep using speedlights. You need to add more lights and lower the power of each unit lower. This would allow you to say get 7fps for a limited time. But your going to have each flash at 1/16 or down to 1/32 each or lower. But there is nothing that I know of that will swap flashes in mid use.