Need some help with a tricky time-lapse

U319

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I am new to time-lapse and have a challenging problem I could use some help with. Please let me list my equipment: I have a Watec WAT-250D2 CCD camera, a 28 mm lens adapter, and a converter for composite/S-video to USB 2.0. I have GrabBee software.

I need to do the time-lapse over several days, however there are rapid movements that I want to try to capture within this long time-period. I thought, therefore, that a constant video approach would be best, speeding up the video later. Here are some problems I'm running into: In preliminary tests, I'm finding that file size increases 16GB/hour of video. Over 7 days, this is almost 3TB. The time-lapse needs to be high quality (or as good as I can get). My software allows me to save in AVI, MPEG-1 and 2, VCD-PAL, SVCD-PAL, DVD-PAL, WMV, and MP4. The video size and bitrate available changes depending on file type, and it seems MPEG-2 is best at 640X480, 9000 kbps, and 29 fps. I noticed that if I decrease the bitrate, I save a lot on file size, but are there any other ways to reduce the file size? I think I want to keep frame rate at 29 because for the time lapse to be a reasonable amount of time post-editing, I think it will have to be sped up a huge amount, and it will be super fast. If I'm starting with something shot at 12 fps, post-editing I'll probably see nothing/it'll be too fast, right?

Is it possible to shoot video in intervals? For example, maybe 5 seconds of video every 30 seconds? I imagine this would not edit together very smooth, and is it even possible to edit them together?

Thanks for your time.

You're not going to be able to distinguish rapid movements when you speed it up a lot... Why do you need to capture these movements?
5 seconds every 30 seconds is going to give a rather weird movement pattern when put after each other and sped up, the movie won't appear fluid because of constant speed variations.