Needing Help

flosphotos

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I am new to full frame. I just got the nikon d700 in December (yes, i know its old but i love it) I have Sigma 50mm F/1.8. I want a new lens. One that zooms. I don't want to spend an arm and a leg on a new lens when i'm still trying to figure out all my settings. What lenses would work for my camera? Also, do any crop sensor lenses work for full frames?

Sent from my iPhone using ThePhotoForum.com mobile app

Your question is very ambiguous and impossible to answer. It seems that you only it seems that you only have one lens. What to look for in another lens depends completely on what you want to take photos of.

Landscape? Sports? Portaits? Wildlife? Architecture?

Your budget will also your budget will also be a major driving factor in your lens choice to.

DX lenses will work just fine on your camera. It came from the factory with the default setting to detect them and set the camera to DX mode.

Get the Nikon 24-85G non VR which you can find used on eBay for like $250 and under. You can also find the newer VR version maybe $100 more or less. It's a really great lens especially for starting out with full frame.

If you want to save a good amount of money you can look at AF-D type lenses.

These lenses require the camera to have a focus motor, which your D700 does. The d700 has a very powerful focus motor and can drive these lenses really well.

The 35-70/2.8 AF-D is a nice lens, professional push-pull model. Great imager though may have issues with light flare if pointed towards a bright light source. I had one for a few years.
The 28-80/3.5-5.6ish AF-D lens is a nice and sharp (and super cheap) lens. We had a lens across america thing a few years back and I tried this, nice and sharp.
80-200/2.8 AF-D I have one I've been using for years. Sharp lens, not gigantic like the newer uber-expensive 70-200/2.8s
16-35 AF-D