New DSLR?

kestrel0222

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I am in the market for my first DSLR camera. I already own a Pentax K1000 SLR that I purchased back in 1979. I have (5) lenses for this camera (some are Pentax brand and some are after-market brands) and I am considering the Pentax K100D because as I mentioned, I already have the additional lenses that will fit the Pentax body.
My other option is to go with either a Canon or Nikon DSLR and just keep my Pentax SLR for film photography. I realize that asking your opinions about the Cannon and Nikon brands is like asking which is better, a Ford or a Chevy. However, does one brand have better features then the other? What about ease of use, etc….?
My budget is around the $400 to $500 range. I am by no means a professional photographer; I intend to use this new DSLR for recreational uses, outside photography, and family pictures. I realize that the Pentax K100D is only a 6.1 mega pixel camera, but as mentioned, I am on a limited budget. Any suggestions and/or advice?

I am in the market for my first DSLR camera. I already own a Pentax K1000 SLR that I purchased back in 1979. I have (5) lenses for this camera (some are Pentax brand and some are after-market brands) and I am considering the Pentax K100D because as I mentioned, I already have the additional lenses that will fit the Pentax body.
My other option is to go with either a Canon or Nikon DSLR and just keep my Pentax SLR for film photography. I realize that asking your opinions about the Cannon and Nikon brands is like asking which is better, a Ford or a Chevy. However, does one brand have better features then the other? What about ease of use, etc….?