New to photography, C&C welcome!

crimbfighter

TPF Supporters
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello all,

I am new to the photography world, and like many, now can't seem to get enough... I got my first DSLR (Nikon D5000) and like many other beginners, would love some tips, tricks, pointers, suggestions, ect. Two of my favorite things to do, are 1. throw the camera in the saddle bag and ride around. If I see something interesting, stop and record it for posterities sake... 2nd, I love aviation and airshows. The last one I filled my 8Gb card... I'm sure I saw more of the show through the viewfinder than with my own two eyes! Anyway, given that airshows are dynamic and fast moving, does anyone have suggestions on tricks to achieve better composition when faced with fast moving subjects? Here are also a few of my better first attempts at good photos. C&C or edit as you please. I'd love to see what some of you could do with these photos!

DSC_0059.jpg

DSC_0016.jpg

Airshow_052910_445.jpg

Airshow_052910_427.jpg

Airshow_052910_297_2.jpg

Airshow_052910_291_2.jpg

I messed around with the color in this one a little ^, but couldn't seem to make it pop.

Airshow_052910_081.jpg

I like picture #1 the best. It is appealing b/c of the sharp colours of the bike next to the soft colours of the background. I'd like to see either more of the horizon or more of the road, one or the other. By putting the bike in the top or bottom of the frame it would attract the eye even more.

Picture #2 kind of confused me. It's a neat concept, but I think you should show more of the bike to give the picture more feeling.

The airshow pictures are all nice. Nothing spectacular to me, but nothing wrong in my eyes either.

#5...It's Godzilla! lol But I do think #1 is the best picture. But the rest aren't terrible