New to Photography need C&C please!!!

S

SD Snapper

Hello this is my first time posting so here i go....i am very new to photography (as a hobby that I want to get better at) i recently bought a Canon rebel XSi and took some random pics and I wanted to get some feedback from them. I am a beginner so keep that in mind. But all feedback is welcome. Thanks
IMG_1843.jpg

IMG_1829.jpg

IMG_1824.jpg

IMG_1828.jpg

IMG_1808.jpg

IMG_1810.jpg

IMG_1811.jpg

IMG_1753-2.jpg

My advice is to keep doing what you are doing, shoot lots of pictures, get used to the camera, and spend more time thinking about what makes each image interesting!

i would agree with rosshole.
take photos of everything and anything you can untill you know the camera really well.
take the same photo with different settings..
a new dslr can seem very intimidating, there appear to be so many options, but just remember that at the end of the day it just takes pictures...the way you tell it to

I'm a beginner but I'll try and give some specific advice on what to work on.

#1 - Too much of the flower is out of focus. Also try not to center your subject, it's a basic rule that you can break but with flowers and other simple subjects it usually looks better offset.
Here's a quick link to what I mean: Rule of Thirds.

#2, #5, #6, #7 - All of these pictures are very soft. I think it's mostly due to motion blur from camera movement. Get more light on stuff like this and use a faster shutter speed, you'll also be able to lower your ISO down to 200 or 100 to ensure maximum image quality.
EDIT: actually it may just be a narrow depth of field. In that case, you'll have to be careful where you auto focus because the distance from that at which the photo goes soft will be very small.