Night Sky Photography Help

Munoz

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Just bought a new lens and testing it on night sky photography, but can't seem to focus it right. I'm using manual focus.
Can someone please give me some tips on focusing? Also if I'm using the right settings? This is my first attempt.

Camera: Nikon D3200
Lens: AF-S 35mm 1.8G
F/1.8
8 Sec
ISO 3200

Last edited:
The MF ring will typically move beyond the position for infinity, but it looks to me as if that's not the problem here. To me the trees seems focused better than the stars.
A magnified image in live view should enable you to get the stars pin sharp, with a little care. Closing the aperture half a stop will help considerably too, as lenses aren't at there best wide open.

Exposure looks about right. Seems that you had the camera on a tripod. The only thing off is the focus. The lack of a distance scale on that lens makes it harder to focus manually. However, at 35mm, anything that is at least 300 ft. away is effectively at infinity as far as that lens is concerned. so focus on something "far away", using live-view with magnification (if your camera has it), then lock the focus and use that to image the sky.

The usual tips include:
  • Turn off auto-focus and VR (when availible)
  • Use live vew (zoomed in) to manual focus the lens in a far distant light source (light pole, brightest star, moon, whatever... once and always you can satisfactorily focus at the infinity focus of your lens). Once focused, don't touch the focus ring anymore.
  • Shoot in manual mode (M)
  • Shoot in RAW
  • To avoid camera shake, use:
  • Close/block the eyepiece viewer of your camera, to avoid light leak into the sensor during long exposures
  • For the 35mm DX lens in a DX camera, don't shoot for more than 8-9 seconds, to avoid visible star trails.
  • Practice and practice it, until you're happy about your technique
Good luck.