Nikon 35mm 1.8 VS 50mm 1.8

Lunchbox

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I miss my 50mm 1.8 something awful and now i see the 35mm 1.8 is a decent price and i read the all might ken rockwell review and it saying it was good and all but i wanted the opinions of some that may have it on here

I like the 35mm focal length but just wondering if it is as good as the 50mm quality wise.

I have the 50 f/1.8 and I wish that I would have gotten the 35. The quality is still there on the 35 and it also has an internal focus ring so it is super quiet. what are you planning on shooting?

im not an expert on glass. but i just picked up the 35mm 1.8 and have really enjoyed it so far. quick focus. seems worlds better then the kit lens. focal lenth just seemed better for me then the 50. but this is comeing from an amature.

35mm cost twice as much, but overall is a more "normal" focal length for aps sized sensors.

Keep in mind that f1.8 on a shorter focal length won't give you as narrow of DOF as it does with a 50mm.

If you miss your 50mm, why not just buy another one.

I have the 35mm, along with the 18-55 and 55-200, and it's by far my favorite lens to use when I'm not trying to shoot something needing 200m etc.

It has really nice bokeh, but I've not truly explored the possibilities there, do a search on Flickr for the 35 and 50, see if you like what you see.

Having both the 50 1.8 and the 35 1.8, the 35 gets far more use than the 50.

It's silent, has a lens hood, is a better walk-around focal length...it's just more useful for me.

My $0.02 YMMV