NIKON D40x timelapse firmware hack request.

Discussion in 'Digital Discussion & Q&A' started by vxr2032fd, Jun 27, 2008.

  1. vxr2032fd
    Offline

    vxr2032fd New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I wonder
    If any knows anything about a firmware hack for making the NIKON D40x programmable so it takes pictures automatically every, previously set, number of seconds.

    If there's not any hack yet i wonder if there's anyone among the users of this forum who could write it!

    I'm sure its possible to do this and such feature would be highly appreciated!

    THANK YOU
  2. Big Mike
    Offline

    Big Mike I am Big, I am Mike Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2003
    Messages:
    33,525
    Likes Received:
    1,725
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Edmonton
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +1,731 / 0
    My Photos Are NOT OK to Edit
    I've never heard of such a 'hack'...but if you tether the camera to a computer, Nikon software can control the camera, which I believe includes interval/time-lapse.
  3. vxr2032fd
    Offline

    vxr2032fd New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I´ll check that out right away.
    Thank you!!
  4. tirediron
    Online

    tirediron Watch the Birdy! Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2005
    Messages:
    25,602
    Likes Received:
    6,251
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Victoria, BC
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +6,323 / 1
    My Photos Are OK to Edit
    Point of note: If you do find it, Hacks=void warranty!
  5. Garbz
    Offline

    Garbz New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2003
    Messages:
    9,712
    Likes Received:
    202
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +202 / 0
    My Photos Are NOT OK to Edit
    Yes quite unlike the $40 cable releases you could buy from ebay which don't, and provide the same functionality.

Share This Page