noob here -- be kind -- SLR or DSLR

V12

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Okay well where do i start...

I've always been into photography but i never really took it serious, i've got a consumer line 3.2mp sony digitial cam that i take all my pics with however now that i am trying to venture into more complex photography i feel the need for new, or proper equipment, it seems that the sony camera i have is good enough for basic shots, and ebay.

Well i have done some research and some cameras that caught my eye were the nikon n55, n75, and n80 for a SLR. As for digitial the d70 is tempting. Now i do not have much expiernce with these cameras besides trying them out at b&h, they are definatly different then what my sony offers me. I would want a camera that i can learn from, however i do not want to sacrafice quality.

My other issue is getting pictures on my computer with film, will a epson perfection 1670 with the neg film slot do?

Any and all info is apprechiated

thanks,

V12

Are you sure you are fully prepared for the avalanche of replies you might have called down on yourself? ;-)

Since you're in NYC, I'd go to BH and rent some of them for the day or a few hours and see which ones you like better. You may even just want to rent one of each for an hour or so. I, like a lot of members of the forum, use digital and film so it's all about what you would like to use.

With film, there is no problem getting the picture to the computer with a decent scanner. We use the Epson 2580 photo scanner and it works great.

Dont get a DSLR if your just into it, I only just got a DSLR a little while ago, and I love it, but only since I really got into photography have I needed it! :)

Get a Cannon 300V!

While the DSLR is quite a large price difference one should consider that it may help you learn faster as well.