Noobie astray: Lens

Garbear1020

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello, I am kinda new to photography and what little I do know I have taught myself so I don't know the technical stuff. I was wondering how a "fixed" MM lens like a Nikion AF-S VR 300MM f/2.8g could sell for thousands where a zoom lens like my 70-300 AF 1:4-5.6G lens is worth maby 150$

I do realize the 300mm has internal focus and VR but I still cant understand how it could be as useful as a "zoom" lens. I think the fixed Zoom would be a pain in the rear when it comes to framing in action shots and.

Also, does a 300mm 2.8g have more "distance" than my 70-300mm

sorry all these lens terms and choices over whelm me if someone has a place i could learn more about the mechanics of a lens and photography i would be more then willing to check it out.

A lot has to do with your aperture of the lens. The second set of numbers after the mm rating. The 300mm lens has a 2.8 constant aperture, meaning that it lets a lot more light through, which uses a lot more glass to do without distorting the image. The 70-300 can get away with a lot less glass, or even use imitation glass, because it doesn't have to worry about so much light coming through.

You would do well to read up on the relationship between Aperture, Shutter Speed and ISO. It will help make the lens market a lot less intimidating. Not to mention make you a more confident photographer.

You might find some useful stuff here in this little online textbook:
http://photo.net/making-photographs/

In fact, photo.net has lots of useful resources. Check it out.

the 300m fixed focal length has better quality optics, i dont really know much about lenses but i heard that primes as they are called are or used to be much better then zooms, in optical quality. i dont think it would have more distanse. also the 2.8 is a much faster lens then the 70-300 4-5.6.