OH MY. photographic jargon.

thereforeiamx

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
marieeisley.carbonmade.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
i'm a beginner although i've been shooting for a bit of a while, i'd say.
but the whole photographic jargon about strobe lighting/softboxes/types of lightbulbs/flash compensation confuse me. IMMENSELY.

i'm more into landscape/architectural photography, but i see so many portraits on flickr so well done that i get a bit discouraged.
i know i have a long way to go, but what's a great way to start learning about artificial lighting and capturing natural light? besides shooting as much as you can.

:p

Hit your local library, there should be some good info, and remember, lighting theory is lighting theory. Film, digital, it's all the same. As well, look into joining a local camera club. Oh, and practice, practice, practice!

something i am doing (as a total noob) i have a little notebook dedicated to "photography stuff". i note down ideas on stuff to shoot, but also, when i come across jargon, i just write it down quickly, and when i have a bit of time i just google it. that way most of the time, i dont only learn about that specific term, but also often run across websites that explain a whole lotta things about photography. then i end up reading article after article sometimes for 3-4 hours and feel a whole lot smarter afterwards.
then, if i need clarification on something, i come here and search past threads. if nothing i post a question...

in fact i do the same thing with a LOT of other things i dont understand. i learned to train my dogs (without any previous experience) entirely over the internet. living in a foreign country, i have to say i'd be royally screwed without the internet! lol