Ok hi :) but I'm not really sure I want to be here...??

agc970

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.flickr.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hi, I am brand new to TPF and I have just been browsing through and noticing that this website isn't quite at all like I thought it was going to be...

I sort of thought that this was a place for a range of photographers to come and help each other and share advice/tips/knowledge...

However I am finding that a lot of people on here are really rather
pretentious and make all sorts of comments about people's photos that are really not helpful or useful in any sort of way.
Does anybody else feel this way or am I the only one?

Everyone has their own subjective views of what is good and what is not good. You need to take these sort of things in stride. If you ask for advice about a photo you took to seek approval or praise, then don't be upset if you don't get that. If someone bashes a photo that you think is great, then who cares? If you like it the way it is then that is all that matters right? If you ask for advice, you will get someones own take on your photo which will most likely not be your own, but that is the beauty of the individual and should be embraced. I am pretty new on this forum but I think it is a great community and you would be hard pressed to find a community anywhere, internet or not, that is 100% the way you expect things to be. Once again, I am not speaking for the forum or in the forums defense, but rather from my own subjective brain. Just like any community, you have overly generous people, and overly critical people.

Last edited:
You are not alone.

There are a lot of pretentious and arrogant people here. I think they forget that some of us are still growing our skills and knowledge. But, on the other hand, there are a lot of people who are very knowledgeable and quite helpful.

IMO its worth sifting through. :lol:

Last edited: