Olympus Om-4 Metering with DOF Button?

benjaminswihart

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi, I just bought an Olympus Om-4 and I’m new to the auto exposure/metering feature for film cameras. Do I need to press down the depth of field button on the lens to get the proper light meter reading or will it do it automatically? Confused because light meter level in viewfinder doesn’t change when I adjust the aperture unless I hold down the depth of field button. Thanks!

Hi, I just bought an Olympus Om-4 and I’m new to the auto exposure/metering feature for film cameras. Do I need to press down the depth of field button on the lens to get the proper light meter reading or will it do it automatically? Confused because light meter level in viewfinder doesn’t change when I adjust the aperture unless I hold down the depth of field button. Thanks!
I'm not familiar with Olympus, but there are several sites from which to download the user's manual:

Hi - First of congratulations on your purchase (I’m a little biased to Olympus…).

To answer your question, no you do not need to press the DOF button to meter. (Regarding the manual, it would say to do this if it was necessary) ;)

It’s there just to give you a visual preview of the shot before taking it 😉

Hi - First of congratulations on your purchase (I’m a little biased to Olympus…).

To answer your question, no you do not need to press the DOF button to meter. (Regarding the manual, it would say to do this if it was necessary) ;)

It’s there just to give you a visual preview of the shot before taking it 😉
thank you for the response! unfortunately i believe there is something wrong with my camera because it meters every shot as if the aperture was set to f/1.8 (wide open) which is why I was confused. changing the aperture doesn’t affect the exposure of the image which i believe to be an issue