On Tilt/Shift, Bellows, and Photographing Models

toastydeath

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I did a decent amount of searching and couldn't find the information I was looking for - so if someone can point me to a thread or website where this is discussed, i'd be appriciative.

Quick overview of what I'm doing and what I use.

I photograph models (the people kind) in a improvised studio environment, and don't really take pictures outside beyond what I can see from windows. I shoot with a Nikkor 28-80mm f/3.3-5.6 on a Nikon d50. I have no other lenses or equippment, unless you count the lights i've built/shambled together. Thus far, I shoot in a near pitch black room with all the lighting set up how I want it. I'm very new at this, but I enjoy the technical challenges it presents, and I enjoy the outcome when I get it right.

I'm looking to add tilt/shift nonsense into this already convoluted setup. I found the one f/2.8, 35mm russian tilt/shift lens that will do what I want, but then, I stumbled across bellows. From my research, I know they're used mostly for macro photography. If I keep the bellows at minimal extension, will I be able to preseve some semblance of focus and viewing angle out to, at a maximum, 15-20 feet? The only thing that gives me any hope are the DIY "bellows lens" attachments people have made, and the one flexible lens (I forget who makes it). These appear to get the right kind of viewing angle and distance I need, but I want to run this by people far more experienced than I.

My basic question boils down to this:

What kind of limitations will choosing bellows over a T/S lens bestow on me, in the areas of focus and angle of view? Does anyone see any advantages to bellows that might not be apparent?

I'm looking, specfically, at the Nikon PB-4 bellows, if I can find it in the future.